Bye, Bye weekends!

My weekends are now filled with work, work and more work! Who wants that….NOT me!

Going back to last month….

We have been struggling financially since being out of work for my shoulder surgery and even though I am back to work full time, it’s been a uphill battle trying to catch up! I was contemplating trying to get a second job (I only work 3 days a week at my current job). I got the nerve up to ask one of the physicians that comes to my hospital if they were hiring. He informed me that he would look into. I was sooooo excited! I went right home to update my resume and get it all ready! The next day he came and picked up my resume and personally walked it over to his office!!!! Now the waiting games begin… I finally hear from them and get my interview all set up! The interview went AWESOME. Then they asked if I would come shadow them for a half day to see how we all got along! They had me follow the nurse practitioner on stress test day (It’s a cardiology office). My job, if I accept it, would be to work right with the ARNP in the stress lab. I would be prepping the patients and monitoring their vitals during the test. I had a great day at the office. We all seemed to mesh…it was like I had already worked their for months! The days were perfect…I would be able to adjust my days at the hospital to accommodate the 3 days they wanted me to work. I immediately called my work to tell them I needed to switch to only weekends…and they agreed!

Of course, because of the holidays and some medicare issues the main doctor in the practice is not sure about hiring someone else. We wanted to wait a little bit to see how things played out with medicare. Last week she informed me that the medicare changes have been put off another year so all is good there and that after the holidays I should be able to start! Of course, I really need it right now but am so happy that it looks promising for next year!

I am keeping the weekend schedule for now with the hopes of this job coming through in January!

Prayers welcome!!!

 

About Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

I am a mother of 3 amazing children and stepmother to 5 great kids. Things at our house can get very interesting when the children are all here...It's crazy and fun and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!! I am lucky enough to have re-united with my first love after 20 years. We are lucky to have found each other and together have 1 child together (making the eighth). Love holds us all together and we amazingly all get along!!!! I work, by day, as a Tele Tech at a local trauma center and by night I have 2 roles! I am a proud Thirty-One Gifts Consultant and a Avon representative as well! Welcome to the ins and outs of our daily lives...sometimes very interesting and other days it is very mundane.... Our motto is "Eight is Enough" and we wouldn't have it any other way....Praise God! View all posts by Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

4 responses to “Bye, Bye weekends!

  • the MRS.

    I hate updating my resume, it is my LEAST favorite part of looking for new employment.

    Good luck in the job hunt! I bet you hate working weekends, but what a good example to your kids that you do what you need to do when times are tough.

    – the MRS.

  • lifeinthemind

    Good luck with the new job… It can be hard to burn the candle at both ends, as I’ve done too much of it myself, but we all do what we have to do when times get tough.

    • Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

      Yeah, I have gotten burned in the past trying to juggle too much at one time…but back then I was working a night job and a day job. So hopefully this will be okay and get us out of the bind we are in! I don’t plan on working both for long term. I will decide which one I like best!!!

Leave a Reply

