It’s Jury Duty for you Ms. Thang…

The courthouse I spent my day at...

It all started a couple weeks ago..My day started fine, went well throughout the day UNTIL I checked my mail! WTH?!?!?! I had been summoned to serve as a juror! I have been “eligible” for this for the last 17 years…but NEVER been called to this duty before now! What I move to a new county and they are on the ball! I grew up in the same county since I was 10 and didn’t leave there till almost 2 years ago!

I woke up at 6:30am…wanted to leave my house at 7am…NOT! This was not going to happen and to make matters worse…It was 38 degrees outside AND I live in SOUTH FLORIDA…This is NOT supposed to happen! What the heck was I going to wear…I do not have “real” winter clothes and I DEFINITELY do not have a real winter coat…Usually it’s a long sleeve and maybe a hoody at best! So I scamper around my room and find a sweater and some pants I can wear….WAIT I need closed-toe shoes! Like I said I live in South Florida…I own flip flops and then tennis shoes…but they aren’t going to go with the business attire I am to wear! Okay got my “interview” shoes on…I’m ready to head out the door! I was immediately slapped in the face with the frigid wind! Run, not walk back into the house and dig for something I can wear as a jacket! Got it, got my book, got my lunch, got the baby…I was good to go to sit in a room and read all day!

I dropped the baby off and headed to the courthouse! I found it (cause I wasn’t really sure where the place even was!), parked my car and proceeded to find my way to the juror area! I finally got checked in and don’t remember much after that…I was so sleepy and hadn’t had my coffee yet! So about an hour and a half after I was sitting in my chair, I heard my name get called! Time to do my duty…lol!

The view from the 11th floor of the courthouse!

So in the elevator we go up…11 floors! Most of the day we were in the court room, not enjoying the beautiful view! I made it through 2 cuts and was starting to get really nervous! At 4:30pm I was released of my duty!!!!!!!!!!!

That makes something to be very grateful for on this coooooooooold Tuesday! I am ever so grateful that I was not picked to be on the jury. I was happy to participate and even happier to find out that they will not call me back for at least another year….WOOHOO!!!!! That’s right…let me say it again WOOHOO!!!!!!!

Time to go warm up!

 

About Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

I am a mother of 3 amazing children and stepmother to 5 great kids. Things at our house can get very interesting when the children are all here...It's crazy and fun and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!! I am lucky enough to have re-united with my first love after 20 years. We are lucky to have found each other and together have 1 child together (making the eighth). Love holds us all together and we amazingly all get along!!!! I work, by day, as a Tele Tech at a local trauma center and by night I have 2 roles! I am a proud Thirty-One Gifts Consultant and a Avon representative as well! Welcome to the ins and outs of our daily lives...sometimes very interesting and other days it is very mundane.... Our motto is "Eight is Enough" and we wouldn't have it any other way....Praise God! View all posts by Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

One response to “It’s Jury Duty for you Ms. Thang…

Leave a Reply

