2009….What a year!!!!

The year 2009 started out with a bang!!! I re-united with a man that I had known since I was 12. Thanks to Facebook, we started talking on the computer for months and building a friendship that would soon turn to love! It begin with a kiss bringing in the New Year! And full force ahead we went…

In February, I decided to pack up my life and relocate to West Palm Beach!!! I drove with my love blinders on and thought of nothing else! I left a job, my church, all my friends and most of my family. Did I mention that I moved from the town I have lived in for most of my life!!! I always said I wanted to get out of there…but north is where I wanted to go, not farther south…LOL! Oh what we do for love!!!!

I got down there and realized that I didn’t have a job and that I better start looking! Soon the realization that the savings account would soon dwindle to nothing got me to get into high gear!!!!! On the job hunt I went…I can’t believe how many applications I filled out with no calls. It was very frustrating to say the least. I finally heard back from a hospital and they offered me a position….I took it!!!! I took a job on a VERY busy unit and want to pull my hair out after a days work there, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I thrive in the chaos of our unit and get very bored when the action is not there!

Did I mention he has 5 kids, four of which live locally….Whew! Soon after moving I began to realize the reality of a blended family with oh so many kids! Our place is definitely not big enough for his and mine!!! We had 6 kids all together, WOW!!!! There is never a dull moment in our house for sure! Sometimes I want to run away and hide forever…LOL! Then sometimes I just can’t get enough.

But the most special thing that happened to me and my family in 2009 is that we welcomed into the world Aiden James. In March I found out that I was pregnant…what a shock! I was supposed to be DONE with my 16 and 9 year old. God had other plans for sure! I had a very hard and long pregnancy. I had sciatica issues the whole time and was in a lot of pain. By October work was impossible and I was home for the remainder of my pregnancy. I ended up with Gestational Diabetes too…. Guess that’s what happens when you have babies when you are considered “old” in the maternal world….LOL! That was an adventure all in it’s own…but one good thing that definitely came from that was I had an ultrasound every week and got to see my little man every week. I ended up losing weight before I even gave birth…forced to eat healthy and sugarless! On November 19th we all welcomed him into the world…What a happy day!

Labor…What a pain!!! On November 18th I went into the hospital to be induced. At 8pm they started with the cervadil and then came the contractions. Although they were just annoying and not painful…I still didn’t get hardly any sleep. I had to stay in bed except to use the bathroom, which made my sciatica pain even worse. Then after a whole night of annoying contractions, laying in bed and NO SLEEP..they started the Pitocin at 6am on the 19th. The doctor came in at 7am to break my water and “get things going”. HA…that’s what he thought…LOL! I delivered my daughter within 2 hours of my water getting broken during her induction. I was almost 2 centimeters when all this started…everything was going good. By 10am I started having pain! By noon I asked if I could get checked…I thought I would handle the pain longer if I was close to the end. I delivered so quickly with my daughter’s induction. I was only 4 centimeters and told the nurse to get me the anesthesiologist…I wanted my epidural! I got it and all was good =-) Two hours later I was ready to push and he came out soooo quick! The doctor almost didn’t get his gloves on in time. What a precious site…My little monkey was finally here!


Aiden James
7lbs 4.9ozs
19 inches long

I have been fortunate to meet some great women through my work and have started making friends down here! We also were fortunate, after visiting many, in finding a church we can call home now. It is an amazing place and we love being there! The kids love it too…They call it “the fun church” and can’t wait till Sundays.

It was a busy year, full of life changes. I am grateful to all that God gave me in 2009 and can’t wait to see what 2010 has in store for my family and me!!!

About Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

I am a mother of 3 amazing children and stepmother to 5 great kids. Things at our house can get very interesting when the children are all here...It's crazy and fun and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!! I am lucky enough to have re-united with my first love after 20 years. We are lucky to have found each other and together have 1 child together (making the eighth). Love holds us all together and we amazingly all get along!!!! I work, by day, as a Tele Tech at a local trauma center and by night I have 2 roles! I am a proud Thirty-One Gifts Consultant and a Avon representative as well! Welcome to the ins and outs of our daily lives...sometimes very interesting and other days it is very mundane.... Our motto is "Eight is Enough" and we wouldn't have it any other way....Praise God! View all posts by Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

Leave a Reply

