45 monitors and 45 call bells for you!!!!!!!

Well, I had my job interview at Delray Medical Center yesterday and it went AMAZINGLY well!!!! She was talking to me as if I had the job the whole time…She never asked the “typical” interview questions. It was really like I went their just to get the official information about the job and find out my start date! I just went with it!!!!

The unit (if I officially get the job) is IMCU and Heart Hall…So in layman’s terms: It’s a intermediate cardiac unit and a cardiac telemetry unit. There are 45 total beds, therefore 45 peeps to monitor. The catch is….The monitor tech also answers the patient call bells….UGH!!!! I hate answering call bells….You can barely understand the people half the time and sometimes they just like to ring the bell…confused lil people =-) Nah, really the most painful thing about the call bells is that you HAVE to find a person to take care of the problem and hope they actually respond! Otherwise, you get upset patients continuing to call and of course it will be ALL MY FAULT that things haven’t been taken care of yet!!!!!! But, there is a positive…The nurses have locator badges and cordless phones!!!!! I am hoping it is the same for the techs…We will see! The monitor tech sits in the nurses station with everyone else…which is great!!!!! I never particularly liked sitting in a secluded room with 100 monitors…Listening to the dings and bells!!!! I will be the only monitor tech, which is fine for 45 beds!!!! All the units have their own MT’s.

I will be hired as per diem, which kinda stinks… I will be given full time hours but no benefits at this time. She said that they have a position that she would like to put me in, once their is an opening. It is where I would be a monitor tech and unit secretary. She said there would be a pay raise and I would be full time at that point! I need a job, so I am not worried about the no insurance at this point. I have already sent in the applications to get the kids their own coverage, so I would only be waiting for insurance for myself! And I am hoping that once I get my foot in the door it will be easier to get a full time position. The company that owns this hospital has numerous hospitals in South Florida and all over the U.S. actually!

When the Nurse Manager was walking me out, she said that she would contact Human resources and have them start the process to get me in! They have to do a drug test, background check and reference check! I am not worried…I’m just hoping the pay is acceptable. She told me that they would contact me with an offer….So, now I am just waiting!!!

So the waiting begins…….

About Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

I am a mother of 3 amazing children and stepmother to 5 great kids. Things at our house can get very interesting when the children are all here...It's crazy and fun and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!! I am lucky enough to have re-united with my first love after 20 years. We are lucky to have found each other and together have 1 child together (making the eighth). Love holds us all together and we amazingly all get along!!!! I work, by day, as a Tele Tech at a local trauma center and by night I have 2 roles! I am a proud Thirty-One Gifts Consultant and a Avon representative as well! Welcome to the ins and outs of our daily lives...sometimes very interesting and other days it is very mundane.... Our motto is "Eight is Enough" and we wouldn't have it any other way....Praise God! View all posts by Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

Leave a Reply

