Policies…..UGH!!!!!!

So, there is this policy at my job that if you are out from work for ANY reason and do not have enough sick time to cover the amount of time you were out, then you get disciplinary action. First a verbal warning, then written and three strikes your terminated!!!! So back in December I was having some increased pain in my left shoulder and my ortho doc gave me corticosteroid injections in my shoulder and then put me out of work for 2 days. I only have enough PTO to cover 1 1/2 days so when I returned to work I got my verbal warning. I thought….Wow this place really sucks. What if I am okay with the fact that I lost my pay…It didn’t matter what I thought. It didn’t matter that my doctor put me out of work and I had the supporting documentation. Nothing mattered excpet that I broke the OHC law!!!!! So time went on…Everything was okay….UNTIL I got sick!!!!! I was home sick with a headache, fever, the works….yesterday! And, mind you….I had the correct amount of PTO in my PTO bank…per the policy states that we must have!!!!! And when I went into the office, there was no hope you are feeling better. Nah, none of that. I broke the law and I must be punished. I sumoned up to the CEO’s office to be reminded that I had received a warning and that because I was out on Tuesday I am now getting my formal written warning and that if I miss ONE more day in the next year I will be terminated immediately. Guess I better not get sick or anything…. She actually let me know that she could have terminated me but she was “doing me a favor”. Thanks a lot for that one….boss lady!!!!! I feel secure in my job NOW!!!! LOL So I was told by another supervisor that even if I am vomitting all the way to work, as long as they are the ones to send me and I have enough PTO then I should be okay….Oh boy, that makes me feel great!!!!! I need a new job!!!!!!!!!!

About Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

I am a mother of 3 amazing children and stepmother to 5 great kids. Things at our house can get very interesting when the children are all here...It's crazy and fun and I wouldn't have it any other way!!!! I am lucky enough to have re-united with my first love after 20 years. We are lucky to have found each other and together have 1 child together (making the eighth). Love holds us all together and we amazingly all get along!!!! I work, by day, as a Tele Tech at a local trauma center and by night I have 2 roles! I am a proud Thirty-One Gifts Consultant and a Avon representative as well! Welcome to the ins and outs of our daily lives...sometimes very interesting and other days it is very mundane.... Our motto is "Eight is Enough" and we wouldn't have it any other way....Praise God! View all posts by Eight is Enough ~Jenn~

3 responses to “Policies…..UGH!!!!!!

  • Mary

    How did you get the written warning if you had enough PTO? FInd another job ASAP!

  • SpaGirl Jenn

    That’s what I thought…I had the PTO…I should be allowed to stay home if I am sick….I was told they have no tolerance for absences. That they need me there everyday!!!! I can’t wait till I have the stomach flu and it is coming out at both ends….at my desk!!!! Sorry, I let it get me pretty upset st times…I have to take a step back and BREATHE!!!!! And thank God that I have a job!!!!!!I am contemplating a move to West Palm Beach so I really didn’t want to find a new job yet….cause if I did make the move it wouldn’t be until the summer?!?!?! I have a lot of praying to do!!!!!

  • cwtweet

    Wow, that is kinda crazy :O( I don’t know how you do it girl! You may be moving to West Palm? Do you have family there? My dad is out there and wants to move closer out this way as it is so expensive that way. I wish you the best of luck no matter what you decide and as always you are in my thoughts and prayers.Hugs and love,Christine

Leave a Reply

